Elizabeth is a local mom of two who was born and raised in neighboring Irvine, but also lived abroad in Japan.  She loves spending time outdoors, especially when the family dog can join in on the fun.

How long have you lived in Costa Mesa or Newport Beach? How many kids and their ages?

My husband and I lived in Costa Mesa for eight years before moving to Newport Beach two years ago.  We have two children.  Our son Brooks is 6 years old and our daughter Everly is 3 1/2 years old.

What are your favorite things to do with your kids in general or in town?

One of our favorite things to do is go for a walk with our dog Cooper along the Back Bay.  The kids love to pick up rocks and look at the different birds.  I like it because it’s safe from cars and we all get some exercise.

The best part about the holidays in Newport are all the lights!  This year we viewed lights from a Duffy boat and that was really fun.  We could see the lights on the houses and the boats.

What’s your favorite restaurant in town for a family date?  A grown-up night out?   Why?

As a family, we like to eat at The Counter or El Cholo.  Both places have great service, kid-friendly food and a full bar.  😉

When my husband and I get a date night we typically choose Japanese food.  We used to live in Japan and miss the food so much!  We like sushi at San Shi Go or shabu shabu at Tabu Shabu.

What is your favorite kid-friendly recipe?

In the winter I like to use the crockpot.  I’ve recently discovered that my kids will eat turkey chili.

Cook a pound of ground turkey in a skillet until no longer pink.

Add the cooked turkey to the crockpot along with:

2 cans tomato soup
2 cans kidney beans
1 can black beans
Half of an onion chopped
2 Tablespoons chili powder
1/2 Tablespoon garlic powder
1/2 Tablespoon cumin
Some red pepper flakes
Salt and pepper

Cook on high for four hours or low for eight hours.

We like to eat it with corn bread.  I love the Trader Joe’s corn bread mix.

What is your local go-to store for children’s clothes?  Yourself?

For the kids, I usually shop at Target, Gap or Old Navy.  I love clothes that are reasonably priced and cute.  For me, my go-to shopping is Nordstrom online because of the free shipping and easy returns.

What are your favorite events in Costa Mesa or Newport Beach?

We enjoy all the summertime activities in our area like the OC Fair, Fourth of July fireworks and going to the beach.

What has been the most difficult age with your children to date?  What helped you overcome the challenges at that time?

When my daughter was six weeks old, we learned that she is profoundly deaf.  That first year of her life was probably the most difficult time.  There were so many unknowns, so many doctor appointments, and so many emotions.  I found comfort and support from other moms of deaf children.  I learned from their challenges and their successes.  And those moms continue to help me now.

IF and when you get time to yourself, what’s your favorite thing to do? 

When I get some free time, I like to walk my dog, do yoga and get my nails done.

What is one piece of advice you would pass along to other moms?  What was the best advice your mom gave you?

My mom constantly reminds me to take time for myself.  It’s good advice and I should listen to her more often!

What do you most value in your friends?

I value their patience and understanding.  Life with little kids leaves less time to maintain friendships.

What was your career before having children?  Do you ever miss it?

I worked in Human Resources for a medical device company.  I miss the interactions and relationships with my coworkers but I feel lucky to be home with my kids when they are young.

Thank you Elizabeth!

Join The Newport Mesa Moms Network Community

Stay up-to-date with what is happening in-and-around Newport Beach, Huntington Beach and Costa Mesa, CA with local events, community highlights, and exclusive deals.